PETERSBURG-AK Petersburg’s State Senator will be Democrat Dennis Egan of Juneau after the 2012 elections. Petersburg recently lost a lawsuit aimed at overturning its new legislative district and the city council this week decided not to take the case any further. Egan is the only legislator who will not be up for re-election next fall. Once Alaska’s new legislative boundaries take effect, Egan’s Senate District will include Petersburg, Skagway, and several smaller towns along with the Capitol City. Petersburg is currently in Republican Bert Stedman’s Senate district which also includes his home town of Sitka as well as Wrangell, and Ketchikan. Egan says he has a good relationship with Stedman and plans to work with him to get up to speed on Petersburg issues. Egan’s also been in touch with local officials and Matt Lichtenstein spoke with him late last week
© Copyright, Narrows Broadcasting Corp.